It requires a number of permits prior to establishment of a geothermal plant, and here the so-called "License for exploration and production of geothermal energy" is essential. This authorization is given by the Danish Ministry of Energy, Utilities and Climate after processing by the DEA and The Energy, Utilities and Climate Committee.

Applications for license according to the Subsoil Act have two annual application deadlines, February 1’st and September 1’st. Further information on permits and supply can be found on the DEA's website.

There are currently 12 licenses for exploration and production of geothermal energy in Denmark:

  • Thisted Varmeforsyning, who have had the geothermal plant since 1984.
  • Hovedstadsområdets Geotermiske Samarbejde (HGS) consisting of HOFOR, Centralkommunernes Transmissionsselskab (CTR) and Vestegnens Kraftvarmeselskab (VEKS) holds a license from 2001. The geothermal demonstration plant at Amager is established under this license in 2005.
  • Sønderborg Fjernvarme holds a license from 2007, and has established a geothermal plant which was inaugurated in April 2013.
  • Skive Geotermi
  • Tønder Fjernvarmeselskab
  • Energi Viborg Kraftvarme
  • Rønne Varme
  • Hjørring Varmeforsyning
  • Farum Fjernvarme
  • Forsyning Helsingør Varme
  • Brønderslev Varme
  • Hillerød Varme